Health – Before, During and After Cancer

The following short essay was written for a local Indy neighborhood publication when a friend asked me to guest write for her column. It will be published this Thursday, just a few days before I go in for the surgery.

I’ve been meeting with friends lately and this topic has, understandably, come up again and again – The consideration of my healthy habits in the face of stomach cancer. I’ve been asked how this happened despite my efforts and I’ve been asked if I still feel all my efforts were worth it. I could go on and on about this, but I think this essay sums it up sufficiently…so I’ll just leave it at that for now.

———————–

Health Before During and After Cancer

I eat only whole grain breads and pastas. I drink multiple cups of liquids throughout the day. I get eight hours of sleep every night. I get stomach cancer. I shop at Good Earth. I have a fulfilling social life. I eat very little refined sugars. I eat no meat. I consume no dairy. I eat multiple servings of diverse fruits and vegetables every day. I get stomach cancer. I run no less than 10 miles every day as a high performing distance runner. I barely ever buy packaged foods. I barely eat processed foods at all. I get Pseudomyxoma Peritonei. I buy organic at every possible opportunity. I eat leafy greens on a consistent basis. I’m 36 years old. I win marathons. I get stomach cancer.

When I was suddenly hit with the pain in my abdomen that didn’t subside after two days of rest, I was sure I had an umbilical hernia from the repeated stresses I place on my body from high mileage running and a physically laborious job. The CT scan, however, came back with a much different diagnosis. The surgeon informed me that I have Pseudomyxoma Peritonei, a rare, but treatable, form of stomach cancer that was going to require an extensive operation and a long recovery. It was so out of left field that I almost had no reaction to it at all, as if I was just told that my headache would require ibuprofen. Ok, let’s get on with it then.

I wasn’t angry. I wouldn’t even say I was shocked. Maybe not even confused. I simply accepted it and prepared for the next step in the procedure, almost instantly thinking about the recovery and getting back to running. In hindsight, I don’t think I had the reactions most would expect after being told they have a life-threatening disease because I couldn’t imagine I had done anything wrong, ill-advised, or otherwise foolish to bring this upon myself. It is a RARE cancer, which means the causes are entirely unknown, if there are even “causes” at all. Maybe this is just a process of physical imperfection. It’s certainly not from smoking, too much red meat, pesticide ingestion or any other “known causes” of cancer. I live what we understand is a healthy lifestyle.

Of course, the reaction by friends and family were, understandably, quite shocked. I heard the same affirmation again and again, “But how? You are the healthiest person I know!”

Maybe, maybe not, but I at least pay attention to my habits, because I understand the immediate value of health. Healthy living behaviors, for me, have never been primarily about AVOIDING life-threatening disease and degeneration. Yes, those are absolutely considerations in my habits, but more importantly, I live a healthy lifestyle because it affords me a greater quality of life in the very immediate sense. I gain a benefit from riding my bike everywhere and running countless miles daily by engaging in the acts themselves, feeling the pounding of my heart, interacting with the environment, sending spikes of adrenaline through my bloodstream, activating the neurons in my brain and so on. It just so happens that the physical activity also has health benefits that extend far past the act itself as well, but my concern is with my immediate quality of life. The same principle applies for all my other healthy habits, whether those are the foods I eat, or the emotionally satisfying activities I choose to partake of.

But that doesn’t make me bulletproof. I still got stomach cancer. And yet, the healthy life I’ve built to this point not only served me in the short term, but has afforded me both a positive mental perspective to deal with the cancer emotionally and a physical strength to aid me in recovery once the doctor’s remove the cancer from my body. Case after case has shown that healthy individuals recover quicker from surgery, their bodies primed to overcome the stresses involved, coupled with a positive mentality to push through the emotional struggles all the same.

It would be tragic to give up on a healthy lifestyle just because I got stomach cancer, to view the circumstance as if all my behaviors had failed, as if they weren’t worth it and I should have been drinking, smoking, eating bacon and watching reality TV all day. Something grew the cancer in my stomach, though doubtfully anything of my own doing, yet every active day, every wonderful meal, every rewarding friendship held it’s own specific value and reward in the moment. In that, all our healthy decisions have an undeniable value.

At the time of this writing I have yet to go into surgery and start the process of recovery, but when I do, I know the healthy lifestyle decisions I’ve made to this point will benefit me at every step. Cancer or not, my health has always been worth the effort.

11 responses to “Health – Before, During and After Cancer

  1. Great essay, I love your positive outlook. I think if it were me I would have a hard time avoiding a “Why me?” reaction. Thank goodness it’s a highly treatable cancer. I wish you all the best in your surgery and subsequent recovery, and return to doing the things you love!

    • Thanks so much Jeff…I’ve had a post building that addresses the “why me” consideration, so maybe I’ll get that up soon. Thanks!

  2. Scott,
    You are in our prayers and keep up the great attitude. You wrote it yourself, good attitude will get you through this. There maybe rough roads ahead but with an upbeat attitude, it will make everything alot easier to handle.
    Love,
    Un. Terry and At. Regina

    • Thanks guys…it’s surely gonna suck, but I see no value in dreading it or being down about it…that’s only going to make it worse. See you on the other side!

  3. Crystal Lawson

    You are a hero to many inclulding me with your attitude. I personally know your Mother and Father (I worked at AM Water) and I know as much as this is killing them inside, they have to be so proud of you. I am a firm believer that attitude can and usually does contribute to the success of anything even health issues. You keep that postitive attitude and know that you are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Crystal Lawson

    • Thank you for the good words Crystal. Please do what you can to comfort my parents, because having a son of my own and thinking about how I would feel if HE was in my position, I can only imagine what they are going through. Thank you again.

  4. Scott,
    I want you to know that I am sending you every positive, optimistic, healing, and caring thought and prayer that I can muster. I’m picturing you recovered and feeling well and I’ll continue to do that for as long as you need me.
    With abundant prayers and supportive thoughts of you,
    Patti (your mother’s cousin)

  5. This is so beautifully written and so positive! I love your attitude and how much a healthy lifestyle means to you! My cousin is a cancer survivor and she wasn’t always the healthiest person. She never ate right and her exercise was very limited. I’m happy to say that she’s since taken her health a lot more seriously and she’s in remission! She has this amazing cookbook called “Kicking Cancer in the Kitchen” by Annette Ramke & Kendall Scott. It’s specifically designed for those with cancer and the recipes are really delicious! You should check it out! Their website http://thekickingkitchen.com/ has a lot more information on it too. Sending you optimistic vibes and keep fighting!

  6. Scott,
    Great essay with such a positive attitude! You will be in our thoughts and prayers today and through your recovery period. Good luck and stay positive.—– Chris & Maribeth

  7. Crystal Lawson

    Today is the big day and you and your family are in my prayers. You are not alone in the surgery room, God is there blowing his breath of calmness, courage and rest on you. He is the eyes and hands of the surgeons making sure HIS will is done. My prayer is for you and your family that his love will provide strength, courage and healing while you are in surgery and throughout your recovery. Stay positive and let those who love you support you now. Can’t wait to see what you have to share when this is all over. Frankly, I’m looking forward to a wonderful and inspirational story.
    God Bless

Leave a Reply

