Healing to Healed to Heeling

And then JUST LIKE THAT…something started working. I don’t know if it was the alignment work I am doing, the strengthening, the rest or a combination of all three, but SOMETHING has turned around inside my leg and I’ve noticed significant progress in healing. The deep-seated pain is minimal and sporadic. The tightness continues to melt away with each passing day. My gait is not hindered by a limp and strains and stresses are not aggravating. Just. Like. That.

I suppose since the injury came on so suddenly that it should leave in the same manner. Unfortunately, the window of time created during this setback has swallowed the fitness I had built to that point and the PR I was hoping to run at the marathon this November is now no more. The time needed to both ramp up fitness and then scale back for the race is too short for success and so I’ll just have to cheer on my teammates and look towards the Spring, or a winter destination race. 🙂

You know what though, I’m just happy to be on the verge of running again. Measured success, goal races and a climactic endpoint to so much training is all part of the fun, but ultimately, in it’s most purest form, the success and the joy are embodied by the actual effort itself. No one can sustain the amount of mileage and strain we put our bodies through if not for a seemingly absent reward in the act itself. We love running and so we do it. When it hurts, we do it. When we can’t breathe, we do it. When it’s cold, dark, hot, windy, freezing, raining, etc., we do it. All that effort may get us to race day, but come what may in that relatively short span of time it takes to complete the course, all the work up until that point is what we look back upon as the true value, the true reward.

So I can’t wait it out, because in the meantime I’ll be running. Again, finally. And believe me, at this point in my life, I need it more than ever. (subtly alluded to back story not included)

6 responses to “Healing to Healed to Heeling

  1. Hope your injury holds up. Nothing like being down and unable to run. I broke my toe in two places right before a race last year, I didn’t cry until the Dr. said “No running for 8 weeks or it’ll never heal” The break was so bad he had to reduce it and make me wear a boot, nothing like looking like an idiot when people ask you what happen and you say you have a broken toe. Then they give you this strange look, like, “why the heck are you wearing a boot”

    • Thanks Somer. Things have been starting to turn around, which is good for both my body and mind, but I’m giving it a little more time to completely clear up. Sorry to hear your injury took place right before a race…that would be even worse! Regardless, injuries heal and life (running) goes on.

      • That’s good you’re giving it a little more time. Are you doing anything else in the meantime to help keep your spirits up. Being sidelined can make you seriously depressed (I know from experience) 😦

      • Oh, believe me, I know. 🙂 Fortunately, this time around I don’t have a high-pressure race I’m missing (last time it was qualifying for the Olympic Marathon Trials), so I’m able to just look further to the future. In the meantime, I’m confused with a “life change”, some other projects and LOTS of bike riding. Just being physical helps alleviate the static energy depression, so cycling is helping me work through this until I can get back on my feet.

      • Good on you. Love that you are doing the bike and other things.Take care of yourself dude, us slower running vegans can keep admiring your awesomeness and determination.

        a drastic life change (illness) started me running, and my vegan diet changed my life again

        http://vedgedout.com/why-vegan/

  2. Subtly alluded to back story…while mine is different I think I get it. We do strange and/or drastic things so that we can keep on running. We NEED running. Glad to hear you’re on the upswing man.

    Side note: A good running friend/mentor or mine had a heart bypass this AM (skinny little guy, relatively fast too). Thank God for veganism.

Leave a Reply

