Chill out

I’ve hit my breaking point with this whole leg/thigh/groin/itb/whatever is going on with my leg thing. For a couple weeks now I haven’t been able to shake this pain, even alternating running days with non-running days. So in the interest of making sure I’m pain free for my runs leading up to Tecumseh, I’m taking as many days off as necessary until this pain goes away. I only wish I knew what was causing all this mess and if I need to stretch, not stretch or something entirely different. Ultimately, rest is best. I know this, but it takes a lot to get me to succumb to the advice, especially since in the past I’ve been able to run through it while whatever is nagging me eventually clears up. This time though, it just seems to wax and wane. Eh, such is the process of running. So until I’m back running again, which I suspect will be soon enough, it’s time to catch up on the rest of my life, meaning mow the yard, pull up the garden, work on some design projects, etc. etc. All the things I never have time to do when I’m out running.

Also, I’m being interviewed for a podcast by Organic Athlete tomorrow. I’ll try my best not to sound like a bumbling idiot, but that’s asking a lot. I’ll post the specifics as to where you can find the podcast once it’s all said and done. Thanks to OA for doing that.

Till then friends.

7 responses to “Chill out

  1. With all your success when health, wht risk disapointment when not…….

  2. sorry about spelling, was interupted while sending

  3. You have insurance, why not see a sports orthopeadic and have it checked out.

  4. I would give Dr. Sheila Wilson at Georgetown Chiropractic a call. This isn’t a free advertisement for them either.
    Dr. Wilson is highly experienced with runners, as you can see from her bio below. I would get this injury checked out. You can check them out at http://georgetownchiro.net/about.html

    Dr. Sheila Wilson

    Dr. Sheila Wilson is a summa cum laude graduate of Cleveland Chiropractic College. She has a Bachelor of Science degree from Pittsburg State University and a postgraduate degree as a Certified Chiropractic Sports Physician (CCSP). Dr. Wilson has also earned an International Sports Science Diploma (ICSSD).

    In addition to treating patients at Georgetown Chiropractic Clinic, Dr. Wilson also works with athletes at sporting events. She has worked at the US Track and Field National Championships since 1999 and the Olympic Trials for Track and Field in 2000, 2004 and 2008. She has worked internationally at the 2005 and 2009 World Games, the 2003 Central American and Caribbean Games and the 1999 All African Games. Dr. Wilson worked with the World Olympians Association in 2002 at the Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City. She is the Chiropractic Physician for the Indiana Invaders Track and Field Team.

    Dr. Wilson has served on the board of directors of the American Chiropractic Association’s Council on Sports Injuries and Physical Fitness as the Secretary and the President and the United States Sports Chiropractic Federation executive board as the Vice President. She is a member of the American Chiropractic Association and the Indiana State Chiropractic Association for which she chairs the Sports Committee and Convention Committee. Dr. Wilson is a board member of the Federation Internationale de Chiropratique du Sport and serves on the Games Commission.

    Dr. Wilson is certified in Active Release Techniques and Graston Technique, two specialized soft tissue techniques used frequently in the treatment of sports injuries as well as many other conditions.

    Dr. Wilson is married and she and her husband have a dog, Sam. She enjoys running, pilates, playing tennis, golf and reading.

  5. I am currently out with two stress fractures (calcaneous and tibia).

    Sheila Wilson helped me figure out that my right leg is shorter than my left leg and she is helping me monitor my body and make adjustments (manipulating my back and evening me out )every couple of weeks while I start back running. It sucks being injured, trust me, I know, I am there. It helps to be able to get a handle on the situation and gain a better perspective. You have to let go when you are injured. Just let go. Running will always be there for you when you are ready to come back. Do not be afraid to take time off now. Look at it as prolonging your running life in the long run.
    Peace out.

    • I’m not convinced that I need to take off running for an extended period of time just yet. It still just may be a matter of rest. I don’t think it’s a stress fracture, so I should be ok. We’ll see though. Plus, I want to make sure I’m 100 percent for Tecumseh.

      Sorry to hear you are out right now. Any idea when you might be fully back running again?

Leave a Reply

