Battling Cancer

If I have my own “battle against cancer”, this is it.

In the past year and two months I went from being kept alive by machines for days,
to struggling to sit up,
to sitting in a chair,
to walking 10 feet,
to walking down the hall,
to walking around the hall,
to walking 13.1 times around the hall,
to going home,
to walking on the treadmill,
to walking on the treadmill with an incline,
to intermittently jogging on the treadmill,
to jogging on the treadmill,
to walking to the grocery store and back carrying bags of groceries,
to riding my bike 2 miles,
to riding my bike 10, 20, 30, then 50 miles,
to taking vicodin so I could run 4 miles,
to riding my bike every day,
to riding my bike as a fundraiser,
to riding a century,
to running the trails in BCSP,
to running the roads,
to running the treadmill consistently,
to running in the Adirondacks Ragnar,
to running trails consistently,
to running a workout,
to running a race,
to racing a race,
to winning a race,
to running workouts consistently,
to running so much that I ran into an “injury”,
to running into this month where I stop taking chemo pills and have my 19th and last infusion,
to running relatively free for the next 30+ days….

To being kept alive by machines for days.

And then we start all over again.

If I’m “fighting cancer”…this is how I’m doing it…and I’ve not lost any strength for the next battle. If anything, I’ve gained that much more fire.

3 responses to “Battling Cancer

  1. Great post Scott!! Short, to the point, and ready for the next challenge.

  2. I love that the progression after “winning a race” is “running so much that I ran into an injury.” Getting a running-related injury (from over-training) is what really signifies that you’re back! Ha! :)

Leave a Reply

